Artist & Filmmaker | Germany

Born in Israel in 1970, Yael Bartana is an observer of the contemporary and a pre- enactor. She employs art as a scalpel inside the mechanisms of power structures and navigates the fine and crackled line between the sociological and the imagination. Over the past 20 years, she has dealt with some of the dark dreams of the collective unconscious and reactivated the collective imagination, dissected group identities and (an-)aesthetic means of persuasion. In her films, installations, photographs, staged performances and public monuments Yael investigates subjects like national identity, trauma, and displacement, often through ceremonies, memorials, public rituals and collective gatherings.


Head of Production & Development, Sandbox Films | USA

Jessica Harrop is an Emmy-nominated documentary filmmaker who has dedicated her career to inspiring passion about science through film. She runs development and production for Sandbox Films, sharing responsibility for all project decisions and company strategy and acting as an executive producer for Sandbox Films documentaries. Jessica has produced content for a variety of outlets including Netflix, Showtime, Discovery, National Geographic and PBS. She holds a degree in ecology and evolutionary biology and a Certificate in Theatre from Princeton University, where she has been co- teaching an undergraduate film course on communicating climate change.


Programmer & Documentary Consultant, e u R O P E doconsultancy | Sweden

Martijn te Pas was head of the program department of the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) from 2000 to 2019. As senior programmer he was responsible for researching regular and focus programs, maintaining an extensive network of film professionals and the selection and programming of films. In 2020 Martijn started e u R O P E doconsultancy, offering tailor-made strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats analyses of films, and expert advice and guidance on festival and distribution strategies. He is currently part of a team setting up a new hybrid/ documentary festival in Oslo.


Head of Documentary, AFTRS | Australia

Richard Welch is an experienced curator, lecturer and filmmaker with over 20 years’ experience in the screen media industry, and is currently Head of Documentary at the Australian Film Radio and Television School (AFTRS). Prior to AFTRS, Richard worked as Festival Co-Director and was a founding member of the Antenna Documentary Film Festival. He is currently undertaking a Higher Research degree candidacy at Macquarie University, in the Doctor of Philosophy program, exploring the interconnectivity between national identity and sport through documentary.



Filmmaker | Australia

Yaara Bou Melhem is a Walkley award-winning journalist, director and producer who
has made films in the remotest corners of Australia and around the world. Yaara’s documentary feature Unseen Skies interrogates the inner workings of mass surveillance, computer vision and artificial intelligence through the works of US artist Trevor Paglen and premiered in competition at the San Francisco International Film Festival in 2021. She is currently directing a series for the ABC and is the inaugural journalist-in- residence at the Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas, where she will work on journalistic experimental film.


Filmmaker | Australia, USA

Judith Ehrlich is a multiple award-winning filmmaker who now lives in Brisbane, Australia (and ordinarily Berkeley, California, as well). Her film The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers was nominated for an Academy Award, Emmy and International Documentary Association Award, and won a Peabody and a dozen film festival awards. She recently completed the third in a triptych of documentaries on non-violent civil disobedience, The Boys Who Said NO!, about a youth-led mass movement of draft resisters who chose conscience over killing in the Vietnam War.


Filmmaker | Australia

One of Australia’s most experienced filmmakers, Aviva Zielger has worked in both commercial and public broadcasting, winning Best Documentary Logies for Facing the Demons and Quentin. Her personal film, What is a Jew to You?, won prizes both at home and abroad. In 2010 she received the NSW Premier’s Award for Scriptwriting for her film Fairweather Man. She is best known for her ABC Plumpton High Babies series and its follow-up, Plumpton High Babies: 10 Years On.